VOIID Project Blog One

In the following weeks I have a big project coming up, which includes recording some demo recordings with Gabby, for an awesome garage rock band called VOIID, think The Runaways, think Joan Jett. Chuck them a listen on Band Camp, here!

Cherry Bomb by The Runaways:

Do You Wanna Touch Me by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts:

As research for this project I will be doing an upcoming case study on either The Runaways or Joan Jett and the Blackhearts. This case study will include genre study, as well as recording and mixing techniques, so stay tuned! The week before the recording day we also have a drum miking class, which will definitely be beneficial, as I have only miked drums twice and I will feel much more comfortable having a fresh class in my mind before doing it again.

We’ve settled on the 21st of June for an all day recording session, with a contingency week later in the year, around the 13th of July. For the full project plan, see here.

I’m really excited for this project, as I feel that I’ve been a lot more focussed on Foley and Composition for the past few months, so it will be great for me to get back into the studios and start feeling comfortable in there again, as well as adding some awesome tracks in a genre I love to my portfolio.

Currently, Gabby and I are seeking feedback on our project plan and from there, we will start doing our research. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

